Loading images...
9 May 2013

English Open history

The English Open started life as a Pro-Am called The East of England Open in Cambridge in October 2003. Two years later it joined forces with the Charity Challenge in Sherringham, the European Classic in Kings Lynn and the Austrian Open in Vienna to become the English-Billiards Classic Series, soon after renamed the English-Billiards Open Series, and EBOS as we know it was born.

In 2007 the event became known as The English Open, and in 2011 Ron Agnew donated a trophy to the tournament which we have been playing for since. In 2012 it became a WBL event and in 2013 moved back to its original home at Cambridge Snooker Centre.

2003 CAMBRIDGE DAVID NICHOLS David Rees Mike Russell 294
2004 CAMBRIDGE STEVE CROSLAND Phil Mumford Phil Mumford 137
2005 CAMBRIDGE MATT SUTTON Steve Crosland Roxton Chapman 149
2006 CAMBRIDGE ROM SURIN Billy Bousfield Chris Shutt 331
2007 CAMBRIDGE PHIL MUMFORD John Mullane Phil Mumford 441u
2008 LINCOLN PETER GILCHRIST Martin Goodwill Peter Gilchrist 378
2009 BOSTON MARTIN GOODWILL Geoff Brassington Martin Goodwill 352
2010 Not Played
2011 BURY ST EDS PHIL MUMFORD Rob Hall Phil Mumford 221
2012 BURY ST EDS MIKE RUSSELL David Causier David Causier 600
2013 CAMBRIDGE DAVID CAUSIER Rob Hall David Causier 613u
2014 CAMBRIDGE DAVID CAUSIER Rob Hall David Causier 498
2015 CAMBRIDGE DAVID CAUSIER Peter Gilchrist David Causier 454
2016 CAMBRIDGE DAVID CAUSIER Roxton Chapman David Causier 463
2017 CAMBRIDGE PETER GILCHRIST Martin Goodwill David Causier 807
2018 CAMBRIDGE ROB HALL Peter Gilchrist Rob Hall 480


Ron Agnew presenting the cup to Dave Causier

Ron Agnew presenting the cup to Dave Causier in 2016