Loading images...
30 Aug 2018

World Championship Entry Criteria

The entry criteria for the October 2018 World Billiards Championship will be as follows;

A All former & defending World Billiards Champions (WPBSA / IBSF / WBL)
B America nomination
C Oceania nomination
D Asia nomination
E Europe nomination
F Africa nomination
G WDBS Disability nomination
H 8 Nominations from each NGB + 1 Junior + 1 Woman Player
I WLBS Women’s nomination
J 32 players from the final 2017/18 WBL Order of Merit
K A minimum of 4 Qualifiers from a 1 day Qualification Tournament


  • Spots are generally awarded in chronological order, ie the order in which they are won. This is done in case a player wins multiple spots. For example, if the same player wins the World Championship and then the Asian Championship that player would get the World Champion spot (as this was won first) and the Asian spot would be offered to the runner up in the Asian Championship.
  • Regional championships are used to determine spots where they exist (Asia & Oceania). Where they do not exist (Europe, America & Africa) we use our own open major event or a direct Regional Federation nomination instead. In these cases only players who are citizens of their respective region are eligible to receive these nominations.
  • The 32 players from the 2017/18 WBL Order of Merit (J) will be players who have not already qualified from A-I (see list below*).
  • The number of players taken from the Qualification Tournament will depend on the number required to make all groups in the main events equal, however a minimum of 4 players will qualify.
  • The Qualification Tournament will be open to all players who feature on the 2017/18 WBL Order of Merit and any players who are members of, and supported by an NGB.
  • The defending champion will be seeded number 1; subsequent seeding will be based on the WBL Ranking List as at 31st August 2018.


*WBL Top 32 (list coming shortly)
Below is a list of who will be nominated as part of the WBL allocation of players. The qualification route is stated next to the player where it is known.

This list will evolve as players are nominated by their NGBs or decline their invitation and the WBL nominations will then go further down the list accordingly.

Players in BOLD below have entered.