Loading images...
8 Sep 2017

2017 World Championship Entry Criteria


The entry criteria for the 2017 LITEtask World Billiards Championship will be as follows;

A All former & defending World Billiards Champions (WPBSA / IBSF / WBL)
B Champion (Oceania) [Matthew Bolton]
C Runner-Up (Asia) [Sourav Kothari]
D Semi-Finalist (Europe) [Nalin Patel]
E Runner-Up (America) [Rob Hall]
F Disability nomination [TBC]
G 8 Nominations from each NGB + 1 Junior + 1 Lady Player
H Women’s Nomination
I 32 players from the final 2016/17 WBL Order of Merit
J A minimum of 4 Qualifiers from a 1 day Qualification Tournament


  • Spots are generally awarded in chronological order, ie the order in which they are won. This is done in case a player wins multiple spots. For example, if the same player wins the World Championship and then the Asian Championship that player would get the World Champion spot (as this was won first) and the Asian spot would be offered to the runner up in the Asian Championship.
  • Regional championships are used to determine spots where they exist (Asia & Oceania). Where they do not exist (Europe & America) we use our own open major events instead.
  • The 32 players from the 2016/17 WBL Order of Merit (I) will be players who have not already qualified from A-H (see list below).
  • The number of players taken from the Qualification Tournament will depend on the number required to make all groups in the main events equal, however a minimum of 4 players will qualify.
  • The Qualification Tournament will be open to all players who feature on the 2016/17 WBL Order of Merit and any players who are members of, and supported by an NGB.
  • Defending champions will be seeded number 1 in each competition, subsequent seeding will be based on the WBL Ranking List as at 31st August 2017.


WBL Top 32
Below is a list of who will be nominated as part of the WBL allocation of players. The qualification route is stated next to the player where it is known.

This list will evolve as players are nominated by their NGBs or decline their invitation and the WBL nominations will then go further down the list accordingly.

1 Singapore Peter Gilchrist World Champion
2 England Mike Russell World Champion
3 England David Causier World Champion
4 England Robert Hall Regional Nomination (America)
5 England Martin Goodwill WBL 1
6 India Dhruv Sitwala WBL 2
7 England Robert Marshall WBL 3
8 Australia Matthew Bolton Regional Nomination (Oceania)
9 England Ryan Mears NGB [EASB]
10 India Dhvaj Haria WBL 4
11 England Jonathan Marwood WBL 5
12 England Phil Mumford WBL 6
13 England Nalin Patel Regional Nomination (Europe)
14 England Steve Brookshaw WBL 7
15 England Darren Clark WBL 8
16 England Phil Davis WBL 9
17 England Robin Wilson WBL 10
18 England Roxton Chapman WBL 11
19 India Devendra Joshi WBL 12
20 India Siddharth Parikh WBL 13
21 England Mark Hirst WBL 14
22 England Chris Coumbe WBL 15
23 England Ian Williamson WBL 16
24 India Rupesh Shah World Champion
25 England Brian Harvey WBL 17
26 Australia Jason Colebrook WBL 18
27 Australia Michael Pearson WBL 19
28 England Peter Shelley WBL 20
29 Scotland Paul McGowan WBL 21
30 Scotland Alan Shepherd WBL 22
31 Australia Peter Tankard WBL 23
32 Singapore Glenn Yeo WBL 24
33 India Alok Kumar WBL 25
34 Australia Todd Hayward WBL 26
35 Scotland Jamie Jenkins WBL 27
36 Jersey David Nichols WBL 28
37 England Arthur Winn WBL 29
38 Ireland Wayne Doyle WBL 30
39 Canada Fraser Durham WBL 31
40 India Raja Subramanian WBL 32
41 England Gary Norman
42 England Eddie Fielding
43 India Hitesh Kotwani
44 Australia George Chammas
45 Australia Ben Judge
46 India Sourav Kothari Regional Nomination (Asia)
47 Australia David Collins
48 England Adam Clarke
49 England Nathan Mann
50 England Eddie Duggan
51 Scotland Calum Hossack
52 Australia Graeme Wright
53 Austria Carl Walter Steiner
54 India Sushrut Pandia
55 Australia Steve Mifsud
56 Canada Rick Kendall
57 Canada Dave Blacklaw
58 England Chris Mitchell
59 England Emma Bonney
60 Australia Joe Minici
61 Canada Guy Smith
62 Australia Rod Nelson
63 Australia Don Richter
64 England Stephen Kershaw
65 England Gary Rogers
66 Canada Garry Marshall
67 Canada Steve Jones
68 Canada Stephen Kingyens
69 India Shekhar Surve
70 New Zealand Wayne Carey NGB [NZBSA]
71 Australia Hassan Kerde
72 New Zealand Peter DeGroot
73 Malaysia Adwin Teh
74 Australia David Pitt
75 Australia Frank Humphreys
76 Canada Kevin Augusta
77 Canada Rick Hutcheon
78 Vietnam Kien Nguyen Trung
79 Australia Danik Lucas
80 Canada Alan Senkiw
81 England Stephen Stokes
82 England Peter Johnson
83 Australia Charlie Lowe
84 Scotland Dave Sneddon
85 Wales Peter Stanyer
86 England Paul Devitt
87 Vietnam Nam Pham Hoai
88 Canada Jules Mortinson
89 Australia Raj Das
90 New Zealand Paul Wereta
91 Scotland Jim Burke
92 Ireland Aonghus McAnally
93 Australia Adrian Hinks
94 England Stephen Crosland
95 Ireland Aidan Murray
96 Australia Peter Udycz
97 Australia Grant Meadley
98 Australia David Cosgriff
99 Australia Steve Bagshaw
100 England Ryan Davies
101 England Nigel Ward
102 Canada Bill Smith
103 India Kaavya Bharath
104 Vietnam DoHoa Long
105 Australia Shawn Budd
106 England Chris Taylor
107 Scotland Thomas McFarlane
108 Australia Michael Newman
109 Australia Shannon Dixon
110 Australia Brian Moulday
111 England Phillip Welham
112 England Sam Walker
113 England Simon Snee
114 Northern Ireland Tommy Hunter
115 Scotland Stevie Angus
116 Canada Grant Thiessen
117 New Zealand Mark Taylor
118 England Mick White
119 England Billy Bousfield
120 Australia Darren Royle
121 Australia Ian Gilbee
121 Indonesia Rudy Sulaeman
123 Canada Mark Buchan
124 Australia Max Rendziak
125 England Gaye Jones
126 Australia Alex Kay
127 England David Atkinson
128 Australia Charlie Chafe